The Wonders of Eggplant

Eggplant Blossom

 

 

August in the desert is blistering hot. Though we have had some rain to cool us down a bit, August is consistently the worst time of the year.

The plants struggle too. There are a few plants that like it though, the hotter the better. The one that I am focusing on in this post is eggplant.

I have some plants that I planted a year ago March. That is right; March of 2013. Buy all rights, they should have died out during that same winter-at the first sign of frost. But here we are; over a year later and still getting fruits.

I planted these babies in a bed that I composted mostly with pine needles. They have been the healthiest eggplants that I have ever had. Now in August, they are in direct sunlight and seem very happy. The only thing that I have amended the bed with is  water from the aquaponics system.

Note to self. Pine needles are a good thing in the compost pile.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Wonders of Eggplant

  1. Norma says:

    So is it common for eggplants to come back?,wonderful if so,,I love eggplant.

    • I grow eggplant every year. I have noticed that if I trim the plant back to almost nothing before a freeze, it will come back. If I do not the plant usually dies. But a planting in March gives me eggplants til the freeze in late December.

Leave a Reply

