Lamb Chops for Dinner!

Before I begin any new backyard farm project, I research the heck out of it. I mentioned before about my idea to raise sheep rather than a steer. Sheep only eat grass and weeds, they are smaller and I do not need that much grass fed meat to feed Steve and I.

I weigh 120#, I do not want to be pushing a 1200# steer around in order to get the usual 60% yield of 720# of grass fed beef. Top that off with the fact that most farmers in the desert only have Bermuda in the pasture. That means that I would have to supplement the feed for several months of the year.  Though I do have 1 freezer plus two halves;  they are usually close to full. Where in the world would I put that much meat all at once?

My answer is sheep. The right breed for the desert would be a hair breed (not wool). The right size 100-150 #, the right sustainable feed source; mixed pasture grass and weeds. The right amount of time 10 months (ish). The right amount of meat 60% yield should be 60 plus pounds of meat to stuff into the vacant spots in my freezer(s)

So, for now I have been falling in love with lamb chops and then will graduate to other cuts.

Lamb chops looking beautiful.

Lamb chops looking beautiful.

 

After massaging the chops with olive oil, rubbing in some garlic, then sprinkling on some rosemary and thyme; I let it set and just look beautiful for about 45 minutes.

Nicely browned lamb chops

Nicely browned lamb chops

 

Then I browned the chops in a preheated cast iron (Dan) skillet that had some more olive oil in it. It did not take long; About 3 minutes per side.

Into the oven with you my pretties!

Into the oven with you my pretties!

Then I popped the pan into preheated 400 degree oven for 10-12 minutes. My chop was 10 minutes for med-rare. Steve’s went two more minutes for medium.

Dinner is served

Dinner is served

I served it with sweet potatoes (with raw-home churned butter) and Brussel’s sprouts from my garden. Though lamb is better paired with a spicy Merlot; my favorite red wine for the summer is Pinot Noir. Steve will even drink it because it is smoother than a Cab.

The only complaint that I had about the evening is that wine lowers my resistance to Cheetos and Steve knows it! So later, while watching a fun movie, I consumed half a bag of Cheetos. It is Steve’s fault!

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Lamb, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Lamb Chops for Dinner!

  1. CastIronDan says:

    Great looking dinner!

  2. Amanda says:

    Love lamb chops. I usually just broil them with a little salt and find the flavor delicious. My husband forces me to eat ice cream. Men…..

  3. LuckyRobin says:

    When you graduate from chops, try a rack of lamb covered heavily in herbs de provence and a little HImalayan pink salt, slow cooked in a crockpot on low for 8 hours. It is meltingly tender and so delicious.

Leave a Reply

