Chicken in the Shower

Miss Prissy on a rest-cation

Miss Prissy on a rest-cation

 

If you come to my house and ask to use the bathroom, do not be surprised by what you may see in the shower stall. That is my chicken infirmary. If I see that a chicken is struggling, I bring her home and put her in the shower stall. The downstairs bathroom in my house is like a cave. Dark and cool. Think wine or cheese. It is also a convenient place for me to remember to check on my girl. After a day or two of cool rest, the hen is ready to go back to her daily living.
The summer months in the desert can be difficult for the chickens. It is just too hot here. The chickens also eat scorpions, they love them. But sometimes; just as in the antacid commercial, their food can bite back. The chicken gets through it all right, but it can make them sick. I just want to make them as comfortable as possible.

The shower is a great place, because once they have re-coop-erated. I can take them back to their pen, and sanitize the shower.

During this time of year, make sure that they have plenty of what I call “green shade”. The shade from a block wall is not as cool. A tree is much better.

Misters are another way to keep them cool. Be sure to clean up under it though. It can get pretty stinky.

Dishpans full of water will also give them a way to cool off. Like a dog panting, a chicken’s  legs/feet help them to self regulate.
If they do not like to stand in the water; put a brick in the dishpan. It will soak up the moisture and give them a cool place to stand.

I have a small dog igloo that I put a frozen milk container into. It cools off the little room.

Though I do not lose chickens to the heat, I have had a hen go down now and then. I believe that this time, it was scorpion related.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Chickens, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chicken in the Shower

  1. Kelea Nevis. says:

    I had a guinea today – same thing – she flew out/over the coop wall and couldn’t get access to water until late this afternoon when I spotted her. Now there’s a pan of water on the outside too! She drank a long time and praying it wasn’t too much for her to come back from!

Leave a Reply

