Bees: The New Backyard Chicken

Let's feed the bees

Let’s feed the bees

About 10 years ago, I attended a Bee keeper’s meeting. Yes, I have had this in my thinker for a long time.

Anyway- one of the other attendee’s said that he would like to see bees become the next backyard chicken. We all laughed nervously because though many of us were keeping chickens, it had not become popular yet to own them in the city and many of us were afraid of being reported.

Being single at the time, I was concerned about the extra work that having bees would be and decided to hold off for a time. So instead of keeping bees, I decided to plant the flowers that they love and put out a water feature for them. Oh I had my selfish motives alright. Pollination!

During the last week-I have read two different magazine articles that stated that they hope that bees become the next backyard chicken. Maybe my friend’s phrase got around. I am yet again in a position to watch an idea become a reality. I am positive that as time goes by I will watch many backyard bee hives go up. This time, I intend to learn from other’s successes and failures (instead of the other way around). If you are not one of the brave souls who are ready to start keeping bees. then I say “feed em”.

Plant lavender and get a water fountain. The bees will love it. They will visit your yard and then discover your garden. You will be using someone else’s bese to pollinate your crops.

You can dry the petals and make sachets for your underwear drawers. Sorry guys! But there are lots of things that you can do with lavender.

 

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in bees, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

