Gravy or Sauce?

Pork chops, greens from the garden, mashed potatoes and my special sauce

Pork chops, greens from the garden, mashed potatoes and my special sauce

It really does not matter. I make both. Actually, no matter who makes the dinner; I am usually asked to make the gravy.

I am not bragging, but I make great  gravy. Cognac is one of my secrets. I will share the other secrets at Thanksgiving time.

But for now, I want to share a sauce that I dreamed up all by my lonesome.

I like it for turkey or pork chops. Here goes.

After cooking the pork chops, put 1 cup of cranberry juice in the pan, wisk to deglaze and get all the browned bits incorporated. This gives the gravy that finger licking yumminess. Mouth watering already? Well just wait for this-

Whisk in 2 Tablespoons of mustard; yellow or Dijon (I like Dijon, but Steve likes yellow).

Now add 2/3 cup of cream, half and half or (you guessed it) goat’s milk.  Simmer till it reduces and thickens.

Pretty easy.

Now wipe the drool off of your chin and go make this.

 

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

