Do You Remember This?

 

Do you remember this?

Do you remember this?

Last August I had a truck load of chipped tree mulch delivered to my driveway. It almost got me my very first- sound- thrashing from Mr. Bruce (Steve). You think that I am kidding. He was not so sure. I thought that I might have to get a hotel for a couple of nights. His concern is that I might have used his charge card, picked a very nice hotel and decide not to come home. So he agreed to allow me to stay.

He started it though; with his suggestion about getting some free tree mulch to help me with my composting project. He knows better than to leave me alone with a suggestion that has no boundaries.

It turns out that it was a blessing after all-to so many of my friends.  Notice in the picture that the pile of mulch was wet. We had just had a monsoon that flooded many of my friend’s backyards and animal pens. We called it a monsoon, it was really  just more water than this Arizona clay soil could handle all at once.

Because I have composted and regenerated every square inch of soil in my backyard; it is very loamy, and it soaked up the water like a sponge. But since I was eager to get my friends to come and take some of this stuff out of “Steve’s” driveway; I convinced them all that this stuff would be great in their animal pens. It would soak up their standing water and cover up the mud.

Like Huckleberry Finn, I was able to get friends to beg me for this wonderful stuff.   Steve (who was sure that this pile would spontaneously combust) and I used the wheel barrels to cart a lot of it into my backyard. I tucked it into my garden paths, compost beds and then raised the level of what was once my goat pen by at least 2 feet. I wanted to keep as much of it as possible.

My name is Donna and I am a compost hoarder.

Now, months later this chipped tree mulch has been packed down into gorgeous black dirt that is writhing with worms. My friends are all saying that they are experiencing the same phenomena. They are asking me when I will be getting another driveway full. (Ahem!)

All I can say is “Are you stinking kidding me?” I thought that they loved me. I know better than to make that mistake twice. This is an HOA after all. Who would do such a silly thing?

But- there is always the next house….

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Compost, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Do You Remember This?

  1. I would love to have the compost delivered to my house, you and your friends could come by to take what they wanted…

    • Well now Karen, that is mighty neighborly of you. Careful what you wish for. I could hook you up with that tree chipper guy. He has to pay to dump his trimmings. I am sure that he would be happy to oblige when ever he is in your area.

  2. I would love to have the compost delivered to my house, you and your friends could come by to take what they wanted…

Leave a Reply

