Saying “Yes” to friends and family

Be There.

Be There.

There is a lot of information out there that teaches us about the importance of learning how to say “No”. There are times in our life when that is indeed an important talent.

I understand that it is important not to allow people to take complete advantage of us or  boss us around. We should not enable others or allow ourselves to be treated like someone’s personal slave either.

I get it. But when someone asks a favor of me or shows a true unselfish need, I consider myself a reliable source of real help. I have made many friends that way.

Now that the time has come in my life to toss out a request for help, I was amazed at the people who have answered that call.

In Joel Satatin’s book “You Can Farm”; he talks about that  very subject. On page 170, he has a list of things that his neighbors have helped him with-or done for him on his farm.  He says that he imagines that each of those neighbors would have a list at least that long of things that he helped them with too. It is not that he is encouraging score keeping, he is just making a point. We need to help each other.

Wouldn’t that be nice to live in a world where people helped each other once again?

I am truly blessed that it does happen in my little world.

So nice!

So nice!

 

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

