How to fix your honey.

 

Slow is real

Slow is real

No– not your spouse. I am not a marriage councelor.  The kind that you mix with butter and spread on a biscuit. Oh, now I am getting hungry.

I went to grab my jar of honey out of the cupboard and had noticed that it had crystalized. A friend of mine told me to microwave it. AAACK! Never!

Raw honey has all the wonderful good stuff in it intended by nature. I do not want to kill that “stuff”. So I asked a friendly bee keeper that I happen to know. This is what he said.

If you live in the desert, then you can take your honey jar and set it on your car for a few hours. The heat will cause the honey to re-liquefy.

If it is winter time, or you do not live in the desert you can put your honey in a pot of water on the lowest setting for several hours. It takes a long time, but once you get all the crystals to turn into liquid, you will be  good for awhile.  Your honey should not go above 105 degrees (he said).

He did say to make sure that you got all the crystals. Apparently, there is something about the molecular structure of those crystals that will cause the rest of the honey to re-crystalize.

Wive’s tale or tried and true-farm folklore. I don’t know. But I heated my jar of honey in the pot and it is liquid now.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in honey and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

