Last of the Lovely Carrots

Lovely Orange Carrots

Lovely Orange Carrots

Ok, I have been posting about school studies, future farms and  playing in the paint. Time to get back in the garden.

Today I picked the last of my carrots. When you plant year round in the desert, you can pick carrots for about the half of the year. June is the last of those months.

I will have canned and frozen carrots to eat. But for now, I will enjoy the last of my fresh, home grown carrots.

I have tried the red, yellow and white boutique carrots. But in my garden-the ones the grow best for me are the plain old  orange ones. They are sweet, crunchy and lovely- just lovely.

I use the carrots for meal worm food, and goat treats. But Steve’s favorite way to eat them is in a carrot salad (he said cake actually, but he is getting salad). My favorite recipe for carrot salad is one that I have kept in my recipe file for quite sometime.

Sweet, healthy  and in season

Sweet, healthy and in season

Because pineapples and grapes (raisins) are in season; now is the perfect time to share that recipe with you.

1 1/2- 2 # of carrots (weigh, then peel) use a box grater to grate. A food processor makes them too juicy.

Put them in a large bowl and sprinkle 3 T lemon juice and 3 T sugar on them.

In a small bowl mix 3/4 c mayonnaise, 1 T kosher salt and 1 1/2 teaspoon pepper (trust me, it will be awesome). Mix this in to your carrots. Now mix in 1/2-1  cups raisins and 1 cup diced pineapple.

Pepper? You say. Pepper- just do it.

 

 

 

 

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Carrots, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Last of the Lovely Carrots

  1. Joe Mammino says:

    I am with Steve on this one

  2. Well, I have a recipe for that too. I will make it, take a picture and share the recipe sometime. But that means you have to make it.

Leave a Reply

