Nursing Clinicals in a Long Term Care Facility

After all these years

After all these years

I am two weeks away from being finished with the first semester (or Block 1 of 4) of nursing school. This portion concentrates on geriatric care and right fully so. I believe that  all medical students should start there.

Here are my reasons.

For our first several weeks, we spent in class room; learning the basics. Therapeutic communication, how to give a bed bath, skin integrity, how to feed, administering medication, how to read a chart and how to transfer.

Then our instructor took us to our assigned Long Term Care facility.

Most people see me as a do-er, but I am also a watch-er. I watched with admiration how our professor herded us around like a momma hen with her chicks. Thankfully he did not just leave us on our own. Though he was pulled in many directions at once, he was always available.

But here is the reason that I wrote this post. Long Term Care facilities are full of patients that need a large amount of constant care with the basics; all day long. It makes sense for the facility to hire CNAs and utilize students to do these tasks. Cleaning soiled briefs and delicate bottoms), bathing, brushing their teeth, combing their hair, transferring them from bed to wheel chair, to toilet. Then you wheel them to the dining room and feed them for 45 minutes. Yes, I said 45 minutes. You give them their medications and then you wheel them to the living room to watch TV, play bingo, or back to their room to nap until it is time to get up again for lunch.

I try to keep my posts brief, no-one wants to spend all morning reading one post, when there are so many wonderful blogs to read. So I will write another post for another time.

But the reason that I stated that all medical students should start here is I believe that this is the best way to see if you have what it takes. For me, this was an exercise in patience, kindness, and compassion while dealing with a very deep level of human dignity.

 

Healing power of human touch

Healing power of human touch

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Nursing Clinicals in a Long Term Care Facility

  1. Joe Mammino says:

    Thank you for your insight on we seniors. Your observation on compassion and dignity was noted.. Once we leace hospitals and go full time in nursing homes we are totally under the care of the workers there who toil under difficult conditions with minimum pay. We are thankful for their kindness and compassion.

    • Joe, I am a richer woman for the experience that I am receiving, and I am thankful for it. My intention is to return to this LTC as a volunteer to visit with these amazing people. Maybe I will do nothing more than sit and play bingo with them. I hope through my posts to encourage others to do the same. Wouldn’t it be amazing if LTC facilities had so many volunteers that they actually had to turn some away?

  2. cg517 says:

    Yes that would be a great idea! It’s also a reminder to people that at some point we are all going to get there and it will take special people to work under those conditions. It was similar when at the ER in the critical portion of the unit….thou I still had to so my job of registering and you saw a lot, heard a lot and had to be patient with some of the seniors. And yes be thankful for what we have for the day!

    • Karma,
      Thank you for your comment. Your experience has given you some insight, I applaud you for paying attention to the lessons that you may also be learning. As you say-What goes around–. There are those out there who are called to do this work. Let them hear the call and respond.

  3. Alice SANTANA says:

    BLESS YOUR HEART………….. I KNOW WHAT IT TAKES TO CARE IN LONG TERM FACILITY,MY SISTER WAS IN ONE FOR 4 1/2 YRS…. SHE PASSED AWAY IN MARCH, 2014.WE, (FAMILY) LOVED ALL THE CNAs THAT TOOK LOVING CARE FOR MY LITTLE SIS. GOD BLESS U FOR UR DEDICATION TO THE NURSING PROFESSION. WE MISS SEEING U AT THE DANCES, GUESS U DON’T HAVE MUCH TIME FOR DANCING Date: Fri, 23 May 2014 15:57:55 +0000 To: alices1128@msn.com

  4. Alice, thank you for your kind words. You have no idea how much that blesses me. You are right. This studying so much is making me wish that I was out there with you dancing instead of having my south side glued to this chair.

  5. crystalzakrison says:

    I am a caretaker and I love it. Ofcourse I have an awesome person too care for. Glad there are good people like you out in the world. 🙂

    • Thank you for your loving service Crystal. Please continue enjoying what I have to share. There will be more posts on this blog to benefit this subject. I am currently working with the LTC RN to see about a sign up for my new friends that have contacted me today who wish to volunteer their time and love.

Leave a Reply

