More Uses For My Morning Coffee

One cup is all I need

One cup is all I need

 

Most of you know that I am a morning  person. Always have been. I get up early to take care of my garden and then run over to take care of my animals.

Once I am home though, I make myself a nice cup of coffee. I like it hot (no matter what time of year) and I take it black. I am old school like that, no foo foo coffee for me.

Steve mentioned the other day that when he sees all the grounds that we go through, he wonders if we are wasteful. I reminded him that the spent grounds go to the compost beds for the worms and to add nitrogen to the soil. He replied “Still with so many people out there drinking so much coffee, there  ought to be something else we can do with it.” Knowing how he thinks, I am sure that he meant something like jet fuel.

Steve wants rocket fuel

Steve wants rocket fuel

Back to my morning cup though. My mug holds 12 ounces. Because I am a lite weight, that is more than enough “jet fuel” to get me through the morning. But I have stumbled a crossed another way for my body to enjoy that coffee.

Multitasking-pedicure-talking to Tiffany and gathering info for my next blog post

Multitasking-pedicure-talking to Tiffany and gathering info for my next blog post

I went to my favorite salon on Tuesday and had a pedicure done. I know! It is the first one since nursing school began. I was actually pretty embarrassed, but socks and flip flops just do not go together. So it was more than time.

Coffee and coconut oil to tingle and tighten my skin

Coffee and coconut oil to tingle and tighten my skin

The technician used a black sugar scrub to exfoliate my feet. It felt really invigorating. She said that it was a coffee scrub. She told me that the caffeine was good for plumbing the skin. Heaven knows I need plump skin:) I think that she was referring to wrinkles and cellulite. That’s ok, I would rather talk plump anyway.

She told me how to make it at home. Though she used fresh ground coffee; I am using spent grounds. I am sure that there is enough caffeine left in those grounds to make my skin perky.

1 cup of  coffee grounds, 1/4 cup of sugar, enough coconut oil to make a paste. I added some dried chocolate mint to mine. Smells yummy!

I will wait for my morning shower though. I am pretty tired tonight and would hate for my skin to keep me awake.

 

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to More Uses For My Morning Coffee

  1. Your last comment made me laugh – very clever! I’m a bit like you, I get up early (even morning when I have to go to work) and get into the garden; but I take my coffee with me (yup, black!) and then after doing whatever needs to be done, I go for a second (or third cup). I love adding using my spent grounds as soil ammendment or slug prevention. Great write-up!

  2. Thank you for Sharing your comment with us. It is good to know that I have friends out there that still take their coffee black.

  3. CastIronDan says:

    Black coffee here too… My grounds go into the garden as there is not much hope for my old skin!

  4. Too funny Dan! We will have to have a chat someday about favorite coffee beans.

    My dad always told me that drinking my coffee black would grow hair on my chest. I am happy to report that it is simply not true. Whew!
    But now instead of just drinking it, I will be wearing it too. I wonder if a wrap would be of benefit?

  5. Coffee Rocks – but I prefer to drink it! 😉

  6. Tiffany- I drank it and then used the spent grounds. But it sure made a big mess in the shower during the exfoliation process.

Leave a Reply

