I Guess that I Will Just Eat Worms

Prissy just loves me for my treats!

Prissy just loves me for my treats!

Not me. Miss Prissy.

I have been raising meal worms for chicken treats for quite awhile now. I finally have a system that is big enough to give me a quart of worms each month. I keep the jar in the freezer to hand out treats every night. That is how I train my chickens.

This was full the first of May

This was full the first of May

I started out with 20 beetles and just kept them fed and happy. I harvested a few worms, but allowed most of them to live-turn into beetles-marry and have little worm families of their own.

Now I have thousands of beetles. Here is my simple system. I bought two-10 gallon aquariums that came with lids for $5.00. I guess that the kids got tired of their lizards.

A breeder tank and a nursery tank

A breeder tank and a nursery tank

I keep the beetles in one of the tanks. They live in (and eat) chicken food. I also give them apples, carrots or potatoes for moisture. Once a month, I sift the beetles out, and put them in the second tank with some new food. While I am sifting, I am also getting most of the bigger worms out and putting them in a quart jar for the freezer, any dead beetles go into the jar as well.

I leave the smaller material (and worms that were not big enough to get caught in the sifter) in the original tank.

Next month, I will sift the bigger worms out of that 2nd tank and then move the beetles back in. Each month, I will go back and forth adding new food as we go.

I leave some of the biggest, fattest, most robust looking worms in with the beetles. They will eventually become beetles themselves to carry on the proud family tradition of creating high protein worm treats for my happy pampered hens.

 

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Meal Worms. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Guess that I Will Just Eat Worms

  1. Joe Mammino says:

    You never cease to amaze me

  2. Thank you Joe. Steve says the same thing, but his tone is more sarcastic than yours.

Leave a Reply

