The Incredible Edible Landscape

Turnips from the flower beds

Turnips from the flower beds

At the top of my home page, you see an artichoke plant. It lives in the front yard between Steve’s palm trees. It was my first attempt at taking over his beautifully landscaped front yard. When he came home and saw it, he did what any wonderfully tolerant husband would do. He added lighting to enhance the beauty of the artichoke for night time-visual enjoyment. I need to tell you; when that plant is in bloom, I have had people knock on my front door to ask what kind of plant it is. I get their number and call them when it multiplies.  Then they too can have a front yard landscaped with food. I have an evil plan though. The more people that do it, the less crazy I seem.

Can you say “Passive revolution”?

turnips greens from the flower bed

turnips greens from the flower bed

Steve loves trees. I think that a tree must feed us. One year for his birthday, I bought a Santa Rosa Plum tree for the front yard. (Always thinking!)

Red Carrots from the flower beds

Red Carrots from the flower beds

Steve has a couple of sage bushes in the front yard. Doesn’t every respectable HOA resident? Is my sarcasm coming through? I do love them though, because they have lavender flowers-that attract and feed the bees. But when he suggested adding a 3rd bush as a “hedge of protection” to keep the neighbor kids from cutting through our yard; I had something different in mind. Blackberries.

Blackberry bush

Blackberry bush

Yes, that is correct. I traded a baby artichoke plant with a friend for a baby blackberry bush. I did it while Steve was at work. I placed it in the rock landscaped border of our front yard; in full sun no less! Steve, being the good husband that he is, came home, saw it; and added a drip line. Thank you honey:)

All I can say is-that thing must love minerals! The first year, I picked black berries every day during the month of May. We ate them, I baked with them and still froze 6-one gallon freezer bags.  I then cut the bush way back and fed the branches to the goats.

Twice as many berries as last year!

Twice as many berries as last year!

This year, the bush is twice as big as last year, and it has runners that are coming up all along the side of the yard. Again, when friends come over and say that they are jealous, I dig one up and put it in a pot with my rich compost. That starts a new conversation about composting and gardening in the desert. It just never ends.

Hmmm. Now back to those flower beds 😉

 

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Incredible Edible Landscape

  1. chris.hayes1000@gmail.com says:

    I’m jealous of your blackberry – hint! Chris m

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Treasa Birchett says:

    I Iove I just planted blackberry bushes (the thorned variety) along my back fence so if someone get crious and comes over the fence they will get a bunch of ouch. I got my canes from Chris B.

    • Treasa, I remember Chris’s lovely berries, you will have lovely bushes I am sure. I have tried the thorn less bushes in the past; but found that they did not produce as many berries.
      Also, I remember in one of the Senate hearings about property rights and back yard chickens. There was an elderly man who stated that he always peeked into his neighbor’s backyard to count their chickens (that creeped me out). Thankfully I have lovely neighbors. But if I had a creepy-peeping neighbor, I would be tempted to plant them along my back wall too.

  3. Treasa Birchett says:

    This week I am planting corn in a patch about 15 x 10

  4. Good for you. I planted a 4 X 40 patch 2 years ago. I still have some in the freezer and some canned.

Leave a Reply

