Goodness Grapeness Me

 

1 year old grape vine

1 year old grape vine

Yes! you can grow grapes successfully in the desert. They make a wonderful shade in the summer, and the leaves fall off in the winter to allow sunlight to  the plants below. Actually, I feed grape vines to my goats that live at my friend’s house. Did I say goatssss. Yes, I did. Bambi kidded, so now I have more than one.

The baby bunches are forming, so I should have red flame grapes soon. I have planted a mixture of cow peas and clover in the rest of this bed to improve the soil while it rests.

Just playing with some ideas, while I wait for my farm to appear.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Goodness Grapeness Me

  1. Shelly says:

    We inherited a several grape vines when we bought our house. They are a little out of control and make grapes, although quite tiny. Any suggestions for pruning?

    • Shelly, thank you for trusting me enough to ask that question. I actually purchased red flame grapes in December . I have done nothing so about pruning. What I do know is that there are a couple of different styles of pruning. Which style depends on the type of grape. I do not personally know anyone in the desert that can help me with my grapes, so I have found a lot of pruning demos on YOUTUBE. If I am still here next year, I will rely heavily on those to prune and care for my grapes. I will post if I am successful myself. I hate to lead anyone astray.

Leave a Reply

