Soaking and Sprouting Nuts

I have been following the folks who are in the “Real Food” movement. I have actually been dabbling with  it for a long time.  That is where I actually learned that I had issues with wheat.

I also have a great love for peanuts. Peanut butter is something to be eaten with a spoon, on toast, bananas or in my luscious peanut butter, chocolate brownies. But after finding that peanuts add to my inflammation issues, I have learned to steer clear of them as much as possible. There was the time that the guy at See’s gave me the wrong candy. It had peanuts in it. I decided to graciously eat it any way and forgive him. After all, we must give our friends some grace.

Moving on- almonds have come to my rescue. I do not have issues with them at all. Now I use them to replace my love of “all things peanut”. Almond  butter is not an exact replacement. But I find that if I add some sea salt and raw honey-it will do.

I have also been using almond flour as a replacement for white flour in cooking and baking.

I have learned that soaking, spouting and dehydrating almonds makes them better for you. Steve told me that he gets a dry throat whenever he eats too many almonds. That is concerning! But he says that he has no problem eating the almonds after I have preformed my magic on them. So…now I am a Fairy God Mother , or a witch. I prefer Fairy God Mother.

I will share with you how you too can be a Fairy God Mother. Ssssh, this will be our little secret.

First, I purchase the raw nuts. Then I soak them for overnight up to 24 hours.

Soaking the almonds

Soaking the almonds

I drain them, but rinse them a couple of times a day to keep them damp. After two or three days; they sprout the smallest little bud of a tail. That is the sign that it is time to dehydrate them. By the way, the “raw” almonds at Costco no longer sprout for me. I have read that it is because they use a sprout inhibiting spray on them. (Sheesh, they took all the fun out of it!)

Rinsing and Draining the nuts.

Rinsing and Draining the nuts.

I spread them out on a pan, and salt them with sea salt (you do not have to add the salt). Then I stick them in the oven at 170 degrees until completely dry. It takes about 8 hours. I take the pan out of the oven and let it completely cool.

Dehydrating Almonds

Dehydrating Almonds

Now they can be stored just like regular nuts. I leave them out so that Steve will snack on them ( I don’t have to buy as many Twinkies that way). I take them to school to share with my new friends. They really seem to look forward to them. Buy they way, because I am the oldest in my class, I am the Fairy God Mother there too. But it is ok, I am having fun:)

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Soaking and Sprouting Nuts

  1. CastIronDan says:

    That sounds interesting! It’s basically the same process for malting barley (for beer!) I’ll have to give it a try…

    • Thank you Dan. Hmmm…Beer is real food too! Maybe once school is out, I will try my hand at that. I will watch for your post on the subject. Maybe you can mentor me and then Steve will truly believe in Fairy God Mothers:)

Leave a Reply

