Cold One Minute and Hot the Next.

 

Bucket O' Kale

Bucket O’ Kale

No, I am not talking about my hot flashes. Although that could be some fun material for a boring day.

We seem to be jumping into summer a little too quick this year (dread). The kale that I planted in the fall is shooting up and I am suspicious that it is about to bolt. So, I stripped the stalks. No worries, if the weather cools off a bit in the next few days the kale will re-dress themselves. If not, I can cut the stems and juice them. I know, I am a maniac about getting every bit of nutrition from the my garden. But why not? I give it all the nutrition that it needs.

So what to do with all this kale? I will make some kale chips to satisfy the man whom shares my house and heart. But most of it will be blanched and frozen to cook in stir fries and soups later.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cold One Minute and Hot the Next.

  1. Chris Hayes says:

    I love all the ways you squeeze every bit you can out of your garden!

    Can you share with us how you make kale chips??

    • Thank you Chris for taking the time to comment. I like Dinosaur (lacinto) kale, because it has a wider surface area. I use kitchen shears to cut the stem out of the leaf. Then I spray it with coconut oil (or olive oil), and sprinkle with sea salt. Bake on parchment paper in a 350 degree oven. Watch it closely so that it does not burn.

Leave a Reply

