Magical Onion Juice

With me, everything in the garden is magical. So what’s the big deal?

This time of year, the green part of my large bulb-type onions are flopping over, and making a big mess in the garden bed. So, I cut them off. It is ok. I have done it for years.

Onions with a Haircut

Onions with a Haircut

This seems to force the bulbs to get even bigger, faster. I cut them at about 5 inches tall.

Onion Greens about to be Juiced.

Onion Greens about to be Juiced.

Then I take all that lovely green stuff into the house. I put a fistful in the Vitamix with about two cups of water.  Then I store it in a gallon jar. This is the concentrate for my magical onion juice. I will let it set a few days and then strain it.

Needs to be Strained

Needs to be Strained

The solids go to the compost and the liquid is stored in my gallon jars until I need it. I will put about a cupful into my two gallon watering can and fill it with water. I will end up watering the whole 800 square feet (eventually). This will give me a head start on those evil squash bugs. It actually repels many bugs. But the squash bug is the one that I consider my nemesis. Nemesis? Does that mean that I am a superhero? Well, I doubt that I can ever hope to fill out Wonder Woman’s costume, but Steve often reminds me that there are a lot of little critters out there that depend on me. So maybe to them I am Garden Girl!

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Magical Onion Juice

  1. Joseph Mammino says:

    Great as usual

    Sent from my iPad

  2. frugalhen says:

    You had me at “repels squash bugs”. They are my nemesis as well and taunt me without mercy.
    I will plant onions this fall JUST so I can make magical onion juice!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

