Cauliflower and Broccoli in February

This is what I picked today.

This is what I picked today.

I plant 24 heads of cauliflower and 12 broccoli plants every year. Why? Because each cauliflower only gives me one head. The broccoli will keep giving. Though they all will be harvested in January and February, I am thankful that for some reason, they do not mature all on the same day.

I cut the head off before remembering to take a picture.

I cut the head off before remembering to take a picture.

Just so you know, the leaves are nutritious. I juice them and freeze them. I will add that juice to breakfast shakes later. Don’t waste it. Chickens and goats-if you have any 😦 love them. Do not feed them to rabbits! It gives them gas and that can kill them.

I love fresh broccoli!

I love fresh broccoli!

These days we are eating broccoli everyday. But there are days when I get too much. So, here is what I do.

Blanch, freeze on a sheet and bag.

Blanch, freeze on a sheet and bag.

Blanch, freeze then bag.

Blanch, freeze then bag.

I will be able to steam them, or make soup out of them for a day when I have none fresh in the garden.

 

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

