Homegrown Freedom Act

Let me start by saying I am not really a political person. When I chose to marry Steve, I already knew that we were on the same page in the way that we believe. So I let him worry about the politics. It frees me up to just live my life, and play well with everyone. Even those who do not feel the way that I do.

But I recently found out that someone else’s preferences are infringing on my rights. So I will get my head out of the clouds long enough to try to do something about this one. I know a lot of people. Good people.

Do you remember when Senator Farnsworth came to my backyard to see my garden? Well, he wasn’t coming for a class, or for a jar of peaches, that is for sure. He came to inform me that it will not be long until I no longer have the freedom to share vegetables from my backyard.

Can you believe that there are actually bills being written right now to limit our abilities to grow food in our own backyards? It is actually coming down from the big boys in the federal government. It is not just a state issue anymore. I have found a freedom that I am willing to fight to protect. But do not worry. Though I own a gun, and am a pretty good shot, that is not part of my plan. I am also going to leave my pitchfork at home. So this little backyard farmer has been washing up and going to City Hall:)

I am learning about how to organize people in a civil, educated manner, and how to get a bill written and passed.

After I visited with the Senator in my garden. I invited everyone I knew to a large meeting at the Shopper’s feed store to listen to what the Senator had to say about how our freedoms to choose are being  taken away. Before that meeting, I invited friends; who I thought would be very influential in their own communities, to meet the Senator in my living room. They too, invited all of their friends to the big meeting at the Shopper’s feed store.

Once people started realizing that this is not just about chickens and eggs anymore, they started organizing. The senator has written a bill to protect our rights to grow food in our backyard. We are calling it “The Home Grown Freedom Act”. Senate Bill 1151.

While he is working at the state level, we are working at the city level. If you are at all interested in supporting this act, here are the steps to take. Please contact your  city council members and let them know that you are in support of this bill. Then find out who your district Senator and representatives are, and let them know as well. I have done the above, and will also contact the governor.

If you are unsure of how to go about this, contact me. I will help you, if I can. As always, thank you for reading.

Donna

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Homegrown Freedom Act

  1. Joseph Mammino says:

    Can you please give me the name and number of the bill/bills that are taking away our rights, also who introduced them. I need that information so i can originate an intelligent response to my Senators and Congressmen. Thanks Donna. Joe

    Sent from my iPad

    • I will do that for you my friend.

      • Joe,
        Because I am not normally politically active, I do not have the information at my fingertips. I wanted to get back to you and let you know that this is being worked on. As I said before, I know a lot of good people though. I have a very good friend who is a college instructor, she is much more politically savy. Please give us some time and you will have your links and bill numbers.

  2. CastIronDan says:

    Thank You for sharing this Donna…

Leave a Reply

