What I Learned About Real Food

Increased nutrient density will make us eat less.

Increased nutrient density will make us eat less.

This  year, I do not plan on following a “diet”. I may go back to gluten free if I find that I need to.

But, I will produce in my garden, and then consume from my garden; as many organic fruits and veggies as I can. This will save money in my grocery budget. That in turn will allow me to purchase the better quality foods that are more nutritious for me/us.

I will consume raw dairy. I will eat eggs that come from backyard hens that are not fed corn or soy.

I will soak, sprout and dehydrate my grains. I will eat grain based foods in moderation. I will eat dessert (I promise!) just not all the time. After all, a girl needs to keep up her strength;)

Peanuts will only on rare occasion-find their way into my tummy 😦

I will do my best to eat only corn products that are organic. I will read labels to keep soy out of my diet.

I will stock up on organic grass fed meats, and wild caught fish when they are on sale; then learn to use them economically.

I will do better about sugar-don’t judge. I will use more honey and xylitol, but you are getting no promises here. Remember balance in all things.

I will share my knowledge, and my food with Steve; but I will not try to control what Steve eats. Sometimes he just needs a Twinkie to make him happy.  But then again, sometimes I just need a cheesecake. Well, maybe just a piece.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What I Learned About Real Food

  1. Joseph Mammino says:

    In a study of 200,000 people the New England Journal of Medicine found that nuts are very. beneficial. “The most obvious benefit was a reduction of 29 percent in deaths from heart disease – the major killer of people in America. But we also saw a significant reduction – 11% – in the risk of dying from cancer.”

    So unless you are allergic to nuts, eat nuts and live longer.

    Joe Mammino Sent from my iPad

    • Thank you Joe. As always, I appreciate your caring comments. I totally agree. Walnuts, pecans, pistachios, almonds, brazil nuts, and all the other lovely nuts out there are very beneficial I agree. It is just peanuts that are identified as possible causes of inflammation. I am not allergic at all to them, but they do cause some issues for me.

Leave a Reply

