Oh Nuts!

Just a spoonful of peanut butter

Just a spoonful of peanut butter

Peanuts are my favorite food. Banana and peanut butter, chocolate and peanut butter, salted peanuts at a ball game, and peanut brittle. There was not a day that went by, that I did not have something with peanut butter in it. Usually in the form of a my stash of peanut butter cups. But I now realize that my peanut butter cup addiction was more about the peanut butter filling than the chocolate cup itself.

Peanuts are also an inflammation causing food (long-sad sigh). This, my friends was the most difficult of the 7 foods to give up. For the first 3 days, I (a non violent lover of people) could have seriously hurt someone for a spoonful of Super Chunky Skippy.  But the book told me that the food that I was craving the most, was probably the culprit that did the most damage to me.

It took 7 days for the panic that came on when I could smell peanuts, or saw a “Choosy moms choose Jif” commercial. But-with some help from my friends-I made it for the suggested 21 days.

When the much anticipated day came that I was allowed to work peanuts back in to my diet, I was so excited.

I ate a spoonful of peanut butter (actually 2) and waited. I experienced no problems. Yes! I said this to myself, and to anyone who would listen. I wanted to shout from the roof tops that I could eat peanut butter. Happy, happy, happy!

The next morning my hips ached so bad that I did not want to get out of bed. My fingers were swollen, and I felt flu like symptoms.

Peanuts are not my friends. On rare occasion- I will eat something with peanuts in them. But I notice that I will actually crave peanuts for two or three days afterwards. So I do my best to stay away from them. Maybe someday, I will be cleaned up enough to eat peanuts again in moderation.

But for now, I will do my best to eat almond butter, with my honey butter- on my soaked, sprouted whole wheat bread, and my glass of raw milk.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

