Pass the Peppers Please!

Canned Peppers

Canned Peppers

No, I am not showing off my old wooden spoon. I just needed to get the angle right so that you could see what is in the jars.

When I was learning to can many years ago, a woman told me: if you see it in a can or a bottle in the store, you can probably figure out how to can it at home. I have a few items that I am working on, and will share once I succeed.

The jar on the left is a half pint of jalepeno jelly. The jar in the middle is roasted green bell peppers. I do not usually do this, but the branches fell off the plant before the peppers were ripe. I am not going to waste one bit of my garden’s goodness. The jar on the right is a half pint of roasted red bell peppers.

The three peppers is the front, will be used fresh this weekend. There are plenty more outside on the plants to harvest in the coming weeks.  So I will be using my canner to make pretty red and green Christmas presents.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Canning, Peppers, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

