Peppers a Poppin Out All Over!

November in the desert veggie garden is a beautiful time indeed! My garden is rewarding me for all the time that I spend tending and nourishing it.

My  two year old pepper plants have been rewarding me like crazy lately. My  first season babies are working hard too. Today, I picked 30 small red jalepenos. I decided to make pepper jelly as christmas gifts. I used the half pint jars because a little of this stuff goes along way.  I tell my friends to mix this sweet/hot stuff with cream cheese for a wild-hot-sweet-creamy experience for your mouth. My friend Ayu would call this sexy:)

Making jelly, jams, preserves or even canning in general is not the big spooky thing that people think it is. You do need to understand the microbiology behind it and how to protect yourself against the dangers. Canning  can be dangerous indeed, but just like any potential enemy, if you understand it, you can make it your ally.

Red Pepper Jelly

Red Pepper Jelly

Yes there are seeds in there. Most recipes tell you to scrape the seeds from the pepper first, but I have some heat seeking friends. Not to worry though. The seeds float to the top, so you can scrape them out if you want, or just add more yummy cream cheese. I like that!

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Canning, Peppers. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Peppers a Poppin Out All Over!

  1. Paulette says:

    I’m jealous! We still haven’t protected the gardens from the ducks, so they enjoy every little sprout. I still have two surviving tomato plants, so I’m keeping my fingers crossed. No bumper crop for us this spring. Still, we are working towards our goal, and making beautiful compost daily! Baby steps.
    BTW, I like to use pepper jelly to season ethnic foods too. Sugar and heat are always a good combination.

  2. CastIronDan says:

    Looks great! Pepper jelly with cream cheese and crackers are always popular at family get-togethers…

Leave a Reply

