Picking a Peck of Bell Peppers

 

Roasted and peeled bell peppers

Roasted and peeled bell peppers

 Do you remember that pepper plant that I rescued from the montrous moth? Well, that particular- pepper-producing- plant has certainly blessed me. This time of year; my second year peppers are full of green and red decorations. I try to wait until the peppers are red before I pick them. Sometimes though, their branches break from the weight of the peppers. So I pick the green ones off of the branch, and use them too.

I love crunchy fresh bell peppers. But Steve does not like them, and there are only so many that I can eat myself. I slice them up and put them in a container; to store in the fridge for snacking throughout the day.

Today, I went out to pick some lovely peppers and found that a branch was down. So I harvested all the red ones on the plant. Then I picked all the peppers off of the branch. They were all green. I decided to roast them.

Cut them in half and rub them with vegetable oil

Cut them in half and rub them with vegetable oil

Broil them until they char. 

The green ones are ready

The green ones are ready

I put the red ones back under the broiler.

Sweating the peppers

Sweating the peppers

Put the peppers in a bowl and cover with plastic wrap for 20 minutes. The peel can then be easily slipped off. 

It is very simple to do. Now, I can freeze them, or bottle them to use later in a dip, on a pizza, or in a relleno casserole. I know that they are not the same type of pepper as in the  relleno dish. They are actually sweeter, and that my friends- is not a bad thing at our house.     

 

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Peppers. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Picking a Peck of Bell Peppers

  1. chris.hayes1000@gmail.com says:

    I am amazed at those peppers! Did you get them all off of one plant! Chris

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • Yes Chris, thank you!
      Although I do have two plants, all of these peppers were off of one of them. The other plant did not do so well this year. It is just as big, but has smaller peppers on it. It taught me something though. It did not recieve as much shade as the healthier plant during the summer. So, that tells me that in the desert, even the peppers need some shade.

Leave a Reply

