Yard Sale Finds

As you know by now, my husband Steve loves yardsales. This hobby is his passion. He goes every Saturday, even when we are on vacation. His kids make fun of him for it, but he finds a lot of neat stuff.

I go with him, when I am not teaching a garden related class in my home. So I thought that I might start posting about some of my finds.

In our family’s history; there is a man who was a “Cookie”. He is no longer with us, but he was a cowboy cook in his youth. He had a collection of cast iron cookware that he used on the trail. One of his sons ended up them. But I remember him making us a very tender roast in one pan, and soft fluffy bread rolls in the other. He dug a pit, made a fire; then buried the pots in the coals. I have several pieces of cast iron that I have collected. I have made a few things outside-in the dutch oven, and intend to do more. Once I perfect my technique, I will share that with others as well.

This weekend, I obtained what I consider to be a real find to add to my collection.

The best one for fried chicken

The best one for fried chicken

This pan is 9″ wide at the bottom, 10 1/2 ” across the top and 2 inches deep. I will bake the old stuff off , and re-season the pan. Then I will be able to officially christen this beautiful thing, by making  fried chicken in it.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yard Sale Finds

  1. Paulette says:

    My grandmother gifted me her 50 year old pan. It’s just like yours and I love it
    My other pans are very expensive, but I don’t favor one over Grandma’s pan. Congratulations on your treasure.

  2. Thank you Paulette. I bet you have some cast iron cooking secrets that you could share with the group.

Leave a Reply

