Gotcha!

I have not been feeling well the last few days, but I was out in my garden this morning. It always makes me feel better. I was inspecting the plants for bugs, damage, ect. I saw what I thought was a baby bat on the bell pepper leaves.

It was black, fuzzy and all folded up hanging upside down. Of coarse that stopped me in my tracks, and I just continued to watch; focusing my eyes a little better. It was not a baby bat afterall, it was the moth that lays horn worm eggs. My poor pepper plant was about to become a meal for her evil hoard of infants. I thought “I must be brave-this is the time to do something about it”. She was laying eggs right on my pepper plants. She has her nerve! But not anymore.

I have lost my squeemishness over spiders, scorpions and tomato worms, but this was a little different. I was not sure what to do. So I just clapped my hands hard, and knocked it out of the bush. It was not dead, just stunned, long enough for me to grab this picture.

Not a baby bat!

Not a baby bat!

She no longer lives in my garden. I went back to the pepper plant and wiped the little white eggs off of the stem. This particular pepper plant has been with me a couple of seasons, I have grown quite fond of it and it has rewarded me for my care. It is full of beautiful peppers. I thought that I heard it sigh with relief as I turned to leave. Maybe it was just the wind.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gotcha!

  1. Nick Klein says:

    Good kill!! Did the tilapia get it as a treat?

Leave a Reply

