I Finished Up the Butternut Squash! Finally.

When you have come to my house, you have seen that I cover my back kitchen counter with  a tea towel (s) to cover up my most  recent project(s).

Do you remember that volunteer butternut squash plant that keeps coming up in my posts?

Well it blessed us with lots of squash. I have been storing them on that back counter, partly to allow them to cure (up to 12 weeks) and partly to put off cooking them down.  I have been doing a batch now and then. But last week I grew tired of looking at them. Beautiful as they are. 

Almost Done!

Almost Done!

I spent hours peeling, seeding, chopping and cooking them down in chicken broth. Then I pureed the squash and broth. I froze them in food safe bowls and (yes), wide moth quart jars.

Butternut squash puree, some jars of chicken broth and a bottle of pear juice from the pears that I ordered from Utah.

Butternut squash puree, some jars of chicken broth and a bottle of pear juice from the pears that I ordered from Utah.

When I am ready to make soup, I will thaw this puree out and add some sour cream, sugar and cayene pepper. Along with a thick slice of bread and home churned butter. That should do it!

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Butternut Squash, chicken broth, freezing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

