More Mentors in the Garden.

I plant herbs in pots, so that I can move them to the front yard when summber time comes.

I plant herbs in pots, so that I can move them to the front yard when summber time comes.

I have mentioned before that I teach garden related classes on Saturday mornings in my home. Sometimes for “special friends” who have to work on Saturdays, I will teach during the week. 

My students are becoming my friends. As I get to know them, I see that they have talents in areas that I lack. I want to learn, so they are teaching me. I have asked them if they would like the opportunity to teach others that I bring into my home. 

I have already introduced you to Brandi.

Today I have two other friends to introduce you to.

Paulette excells in gluten free style cooking. She makes yummy muffins. But she also excells in Indian style cuisine. That is what I have asked her to teach my friends. I will have her guest post here soon. You can get to know her at her blog http://3sisters-pjr.blogspot.com

A Basil and a pepper came up as volunteers. The basil is a known companion plant to peppers. Don't tell me that they don't know whats good for them!

A Basil and a pepper came up as volunteers. The basil is a known companion plant to peppers. Don’t tell me that they don’t know whats good for them!

Today as I walk my garden and look at my herbs, I am thinking of my friend from Indonesia. Her name is Ayu, she has taught me alot about shopping at Asian markets and cooking with coconut milk. She SHARES her ABUNDANCE of Thai and Lemon Basils with me. I have asked her to be the herb teacher here at Abby’s Garden. She is currently planning the curriculum to teach a “cooking with herbs class”.

Love it!!

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Herbs, Mentors. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More Mentors in the Garden.

  1. A bit late to comment but I was moved – how awesome is it to learn how to use what you’ve grown in other ways! How did the class go; was it received in the generousity it was given?

  2. My Bahamian friend- Thank you for your comment and the lovely way in which you wrote it. The classes that I teach in my home always go well, I have up to 15, or as little as 2 in attendance. It does not matter to me, because it always seems that the people who came where just the right amount.
    Brandi did teach a class in saving seeds that are perfect for our arid desert. Glass gem corn was her spotlighted seed. Paulette decided to teach the class on Indian style cuisine in her own kitchen, where she felt most comfortable. Ayu is so shy that she backed out of teaching after all. But hopefully, someday she will overcome that, because she has so much knowledge to share.

Leave a Reply

