Canning Day

 

Pressure/water bath canner

Pressure/water bath canner

Friday is the day that I like to can. I cleaned the house Monday through Thursday. Steve works from home on Fridays. I like to be here; nearby, but busy enough with my own things that I do not bother him. 

So, when I plan to can, I send out a note on a couple of forums that I belong to and invite people over to learn to can. I have a prepared curriculum, just incase anyone shows up. My notes are from my microbiology class. My teacher actually explained canning safety. She told us how sugar and vinegar preserves food. But we had a lab on how botulism grows and how to kill it. That class made me feel even more confidant about the safety of feeding my family home canned goods. But also the importance of doing it correctly. 

I took very thorough notes and took my notes from those notes. Get it, got it? Good! So calling all would be canners.  Canning class this Friday at 10:00.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Canning, Classes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Canning Day

  1. alan keiser says:

    canning some hot peppers today,,, peaches a couple of days ago !!! Tomorrow we are going towards Young to see if any apples are left to do some more apple pie filling !!! alank

  2. Joseph Mammino says:

    Spent a pleasant time yesterday listening to the radio link you provided. You presented yourself well and were very articulate in what you said. There is no doubt in my mind about your ability to carry a program. As a guest I hope you received a stipend as i think you should since you carried the show. Well done. Joe

    Sent from my iPad

  3. Can’t wait for canning!!!! 😀

Leave a Reply

