Lowered Garden Beds vs. Waffle Beds

Raised garden Beds

Raised garden Beds

We all know what a raised garden bed is. We build a frame that sits on top of the ground out of brick, wood, rock, etc. We then fill that frame with soil and amendments. Then we plant it, and figure out how to water it.

Clay bricks baking in the sun

Clay bricks baking in the sun

The arid desert of Arizona has soil that is sticky clay when wet, and then dries into a lovely brick in the sun. The raised bed works well here, because we do not want to break our picks, our shovels, or our backs preparing our gardens. 

And we'll have fun, fun, fun til my daddy takes my pick axe  away

And we’ll have fun, fun, fun til my daddy takes my pick axe away

When I lived in the California desert, there was more sand in the soil. The conditions were just as arid, but the soil could be dug. Lowered beds made sense there. A lowered bed is just the opposite of a raised bed. (sorry, I could not find any pictures on the web) It is still only 3 or 4 feet wide, just like a raised bed. But you dig down about 12 inches, remove the soil then loosen the ground underneath. After adding compost to the dug out soil, you use it to refill your bed about half way.  What you end up with is a garden in a depression that will hold water longer. In any desert, that would be a plus. I would have liked to use it here, but I do not own a jackhammer!

Not my idea of fun!

Not my idea of fun!

Also, as I get older; the raised gardens are kinder to my hips. The higher the garden, the better.

Not quite yet, but it is a thought.

Not quite yet, but it is a thought.

My new friend Brandi, told me about Waffle beds.

Makes sense to me

Makes sense to me

This is what a waffle garden looks like.

I will be reporting back on how Brandi’s Waffle garden is doing. Maybe we will talk her into being a guest blogger?

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in lowered beds, Waffle beds. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

