More Mentors for Us

Glass Gem Corn

Glass Gem Corn

I had a group of people in my home on Saturday. The purpose for the gathering was a basic gardening class. Some of these people are now returning alumni. They have taken this class 2 or 3 times. We are now learning from each other.

Some of these people are new to this class. One such person, I predict will become a new mentor to the group. Brandi is a seed saver, and very passionate about it. She also speaks Microbiologese. (We get each other!) I have never saved seeds, but I do know one thing. The best way to save seeds is to plant them, save them and plant them again. Generation after generation. Brandi said that is the way that we are going to outsmart Monsanto. She wants to turn us all into seed savers! I hope that we don’t get arrested:)

My new friend Brandi came yesterday bearing gifts for all of us. Some Artichoke seeds, some Sugar Pea seeds, and some Glass Gem Corn seeds. I was particularly interested in the last one.

She (Brandi) says that the Glass Gem is a heritage corn that is non gmo. She grows it and saves it. It can be used for organic popcorn, and for grinding into corn flour. I have pretty much sworn off corn, but I  do enjoy it, so I am willing to experiment with this pretty  baby. 

I asked Brandi if she would consider teaching a couple of classes in my home. She has agreed. One class will be on seed saving, and the other will be specifically on Glass Gem Corn-how to grow it, and how to use it.

We also talked about lowered beds (which I have used in the past), and waffle gardens (which is what she is experimenting with). We will talk about that in tomorrow’s post. 

But this post is to introduce Brandi to my friends as a new mentor here at “Sharing Life’s Abundance”

Welcome Brandi!

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Glass Gem Corn, Mentors, Seed Saving. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to More Mentors for Us

  1. Joseph Mammino says:

    Are not most seeds in veggies hybrid seeds, made so to “improve “the strain, by making them more disease resistant, greater yields, etc.? In my pitiful knowledge of botany i thought that you could not reuse those seeds from the plants but must buy the hybrid seeds again. Joe

    Sent from my iPad

    • Joe, I love hearing from you!! It is true that many vegetable seeds have been hybidized over the years, to make improvements such as; being able to ship long distances, combat pests, disease and climate tolerance. You are indeed correct, those seeds would not breed true. So in that case a gardener is dependant on the supplier of the seeds. However, there are people who have saved the heirloom varieties that have naturally evolved to tolerate the pests, diseases, and climate that they have had to live with for generations. Many find that these heirlooms taste and produce better when grown in the area that they evolved in. I have found that corn that has been genetically modified causes inflammatory issues (pain) in my body. When I eat an non gmo corn- heirlooms are included in that group- I do not suffer with the inflammation. It is nice to know that there is a choice available for me.

  2. Brandi Falls says:

    Thank you so much for the lovely introduction! Yes it’s true – I am a “seed head” and truly believe that a robust seed saving and trading culture is the answer to the hybrid, non-fruitful, “round up ready” seeds that Monsanto has foisted on us. It has been such a blessing to share and learn with like-minded folks in your home, and I am absolutely thrilled, honored, and hubled at the opportunity to share my passion with other local gardeners. Joseph, I hope you will join us for the seed class to learn why heritage seeds are so important for our future.

    Donna -thank you for your hospitality and generous spirit, Let’s multiply our blessings like our plants multiply their fruit!

Leave a Reply

