The Friday Night Follies

Steve likes to come home on Friday night and relax. He deserves it, afterall he has worked all day. I on the other hand have a hard time sitting down. I like to go dancing with our friends on Friday nights. So we take turns.

Friday is Date Nght

Friday is Date Nght

This week, it was Steve’s turn. I make him a nice dinner, he takes me for a walk. We pick out a redbox, he has a (some) beer(s). I have a glass of wine. One will do thank you, or I start telling all the family secrets.    

 Just before sitting down for our movie, I noticed that the Tilapia babies in the tank were coming to the top of the water-all at the same time. That means that they needed their water (diaper) changed. 

I began to change the fish water, by siphoning into a 5 gallon bucket. So far,  so good. As I was refilling the tank though; my hands slipped. I dropped the pitcher that I was carrying water in, down into the 15 gallon fish tank. Before I realized what just happened, water started pouring out from the bottom of the tank, where it had cracked. The water flooded out over the kitchen counter top, and spilled in little streams down onto the floor. (Hooray for tile!)

I put buckets, and pots down to catch the water where it streamed off the counter top. I unplugged the pump, so we did not get electrocuted. (Imagine the headlines!) Buy this time, my 20 Tilapia babies were flopping on the rocks, in the bottom of the tank. 

Thankfully I had a 5 gallon aquarium that I had bought at a garage sale. I was able to put most of the wonderful, bacteria-filled rocks into that tank. I filled the tank halfway with the rescued fish water, added new water,  and put the filter on the new tank. 

I was able to catch all the flopping babies, and put them in their temporary new home. I woke up this morning, and found them doing just fine. I changed 1/2 their water again, because this smaller tank will fill with ammonia much quicker. I will let you know what I end up doing to take care of them. 

My Fish are Happy Once Again

My Fish are Happy Once Again

When we were done mopping up the mess, and setting out fans to dry the floor, Steve said “Well, Lucy” In reference to “I Love Lucy” He has been calling me that alot lately. He is a pretty good sport. He will make an amazing farmer-ok-prepper (whatever).

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Aquaponics, Tilapia, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Friday Night Follies

  1. I’m so glad you were able to save the fish. Remind me to bring wine over next I’m there. 😉

Leave a Reply

