Canning Dried Beans

Ready to heat and eat

Ready to heat and eat

The last 4-5 years, there has been a growing interest in canning. Old things are becoming new again. Thankfully there are those of us who have been canning for a very long time, and  know how to share that secret with others.

There are some who can read a book, or look at a website; and become  canning experts overnight. But a few of my friends want some canning classes. They want to see it in action.  I have taught others to can in my kitchen, but it ends up with sticky stuff everywhere! So I thought about about something simple to start with and graduate from there.

Tonight, I wanted to make a navy bean and kale soup in order to use up some of the frozen kale in my freezer. But I did not have any canned navy beans. That made me think about canning dried beans. Dried beans are inexpensive, but you must plan a day ahead of time to use them.

When you can dried beans, yes-you have to plan ahead, but you can do several pints at once. Once they are on the shelf, you can just open a can, and warm it up because they are tender like the canned beans that you buy in the store. 

The best part is-if I have one or 20 to teach, there will be no sticky stuff on my kitchen floor when we are done.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Canning, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Canning Dried Beans

  1. Alice SANTANA says:

    Donna, this sounds very interesting but I cannot do right this week. My sis has been in the hospital for a whole week and may return to the nursing home soon…. I have to see how she is doing or whether she will be needing additional help, (me). U R an exceptional woman!! Thx for all UR “sharing”

    Date: Thu, 19 Sep 2013 01:47:34 +0000 To: alices1128@msn.com

    • Alice, Sounds like you are Sharing your Life’s Abundance (Time) with your sister. She is blessed to have you to help her. There will be many opportunities for you to can with us this fall. Let us know if there is anything that we can do to help you.

Leave a Reply

