Building a Community of Mentors

I don't really know these people

I don’t really know these people

No, it did not flood here. I was told that I need more pictures. I just found this picture to help me make a point, and to keep you interested.

So, if you have been reading along-you know that I love all things veggie garden, I am coo-coo for compost, and am a practising backyard farmer. I consider myself an expert on raising rabbits, I know enough about chickens to keep me out of trouble, I am learning about goats, and beginning a new career in aquaponics.

What has brought me this far is a driving passion–

She makes me smile

She makes me smile

about growing as much healthy food as I can, in the space that I have been given, and then helping others to do the same.

Too Cute!

Too Cute!

I do not say this to brag, actually I feel very humble about what I am saying, and doing. I also lay awake at night over graph paper sketches of my friend’s yards, and lists of veggies that they want to plant. I consider this a talent that I have been given to share.

See What I mean?

See What I mean?

Recently I started teaching a group of people in my home. As I have gotten to know each of the them; I have discovered that they all have passions as well. The passions that I am seeing are all different. But I recognize them as passions just the same.

How? When someone speaks of their passion; their voice gets louder, they talk a little faster, you can see the joy, and the pride on their face.

There are things that I would like to learn, but don’t care enough to roll up my sleeves, get into the weeds, and figure it out for myself. I intend to learn from this group of people, just as they are learning from me. I will be the backyard farmer mentor, but I will also find mentors to teach me some new things as well.

Rules? What rules? We're gonna have fun!

Rules? What rules? We’re gonna have fun!

You-my readers-will benefit as I write the posts about what I am learning.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Classes, Mentors. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

