Hooray for Rainy Days.

Here in the desert, we do not get as much rain as we would like. I have heard about drought conditions in other parts of the country, and the devastation that it causes. But we live in drought conditions. So anytime that we get rain, we celebrate it.
I went out in the backyard, (in the rain) and sprinkled Azomite in some of my garden beds. I read about Azomite a few years ago, and started using it as a remineralizer in my garden. It is pretty difficult to come by, and I have been asking the nurseries around here to supply it. They tell me that there is not much demand for it so, I have suggested that the people who come to my garden classes to start asking for it as well. Maybe that will help to make a difference in the availability.
Azomite is a a naturally mined substance that contains all the minerals from A-Z, hence the name. It is used in organic gardens to boost the mineral content of the garden soil. Our heavy clay soil here in the desert is naturally full of minerals. I garden intensively year round though, so I need to replace the minerals that I have used.
I am also trying a new hot beverage called “Choffee”. I have not read up on it yet, but will share my experience with it another time.
There is also a batch of gluten free brownies in the oven:). It is a rainy day after all.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Compost, Gardening, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

