September in the Desert Veggie Garden

On my knees again

On my knees again

My girlfriend called me yesterday. She asked what I was doing. I told her “one of my favorite things.” I was on my knees in the garden….again. 

September is a month that promises hope for us veggie gardeners. Oh it is still hot, but the humidity speaks of cooler weather to come. It is difficult to spend much time outside in the “dry heat” that we are so famous for-here in the desert. But give us a little rain, and the weather becomes just humid enough to tolerate. 

So, I took advantage and spent hours in the garden yesterday morning. I was digging out another compost bed. I moved finished compost to an area that needed topped off prior to planting. I am really good at helping God make dirt. I get pretty excited about that, I know. 

As I sweated, my t-shirt wicked up the moisture, and provided a cool relief in the breeze. The sweat smelled, and tasted of salt; burning my eyes, and bringing back memories of growing up in California near the ocean (where everything grows so easily).

No worries, I am not planning on ever moving back. Just having a moment. Speaking of “Having a moment”, when I am on my knees, in my garden, being still and quiet; is a favorite time for me. Taking in creation, thinking about my creator, and being thankful. This brings moments of undescribably joy. 

My hope for you is that you have your very own place to get your knees dirty.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Compost. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to September in the Desert Veggie Garden

  1. Paulette says:

    I love how you are poetic about compost. the man who lived in our house before us was the same. He always had a allegory for his garden and the plants in it. We have enjoyed the landscaping he left behind, and I have felt guilty every time something dies because of our lack of attention and experience.

Leave a Reply

