Being Careful What I Wish For

Delivery

Delivery

We have all heard that old saying “Be careful what you ask for”. If you ask for rain, you may just get a flood. If you want to move to a place where the sun shines year round, you might get 119 degree temps during the summer time.

Well, I wished for composting materials. I could not just wait for my “passive” composting idea to come to fruition. Noooo, I had to contact a landscaper, and ask him for some stuff.

I am sure that this landscaper thought that I was nuts when he dumped his truck load of grass clippings, leaves, and chipped tree branches onto my driveway. So did husband Steve; when he saw what was waiting in the driveway.

Now, in my defense; Steve was the one who originally gave me this great idea. He does have very good ideas, and I AM a girl of action. Once I realized that Steve had a great idea, I acted on it. I am not blaming him though.

Once we got over the shock of the amount of material that was “gifted” to us, we each took a wheelbarrel, a flat shovel, and a pitchfork; then wheeled about 60 (no exaggeration) loads to the backyard. This stuff had been sitting in this guy’s truck for several days, and had gotten wet. I could feel the heat radiating off of it. You know what that means! It was already composting. That got me really excited!

I wanted to keep it all! We tucked it in every available nook, and cranny that I could find in the backyard. You can bet that I will have plenty of compost this next season.

After the 60 wheel barrel loads, Steve and I looked back at the pile. I think that we only got through 1/3 of it. I thanked him for being a good sport. I also thanked him for not making a decision to beat me. He said that the decision had not yet been made. That depends on how long it takes for me to get rid of the rest of the pile.

He has no idea of the power of a networking gardener. I have about 200 gardening friends. Most of whom have trucks. I am hoping that I have escaped punishment (this one WAS a close call though).

Seriously friends; if you have a garden, or want a garden-you need some of this stuff. It is awesome and best of all; it is free!

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Compost, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

