My Day with the Figs/Emptying the Freezer part 3

Thawing out the figs

Thawing out the figs

We all know that a freezer works better when full. Well, mine is full.

I found myself with a day with nothing on the calendar. So I went through my freezers and found all those figs.

Remenber? Back in July we ate figs fresh everyday for about 3 weeks. I also gave them to friends that came by, and froze about 10-1 gallon ziplock bags.

So I made sure that my kitchen was clean, and clutter free. A job like this takes up a lot of room, and makes a real mess. You can’t just stop to clean up while you are doing it. I also like to bring an extra sewing table down from my sewing room for additional surface. 

For each batch (24 pints), I had to wash the jars, and sterilize them. It took just a little over a gallon of fruit per batch. So I sterilized jars, cooked down figs and sugar water with lemon, loaded the jars and popped them in the canner to process- all day long. 

My husband will tell you that when I work in the kitchen, I make a big mess. But getting this done took several hours. I started at 9:00 and was done by 3:00. I cleaned the kitchen, mopped the floor and took a shower (yes, I needed it). 

By the time he arrived home, this was the only evidence left of how hard I worked all day. 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Overdoing it? Nah! Abundance to share.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Canning, figs, freezing, Fruit, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

