Setting a Healthy Table

Ever since discovering my food intolerances, I have paid so much more attention to my menu choices.
I am also learning some new ways to use the vegetables that I grow.
Yesterday we had our monthly family get together to celebrate (belatedly) my son-in-law’s birthday. He likes to stay in good shape, and eat healthy. So I used this as an excuse to introduce some healthy food choices to my family.

Veggies and dip

Veggies and dip

We always start our gatherings with cut up veggies, and dips. There were plenty of green, and red bell peppers from the garden. We cut up some of the melons that grew volunteerily this year. I bought celery, cucumbers and carrots. The dips were homemade, and I taught my daughter how to make hummus with my food processor that is older than her. Working that food processor was her biggest challenge. But she was pleased that everyone loved her hummus.

Hummus

Hummus

Our first coarse was a cauliflower tortilla that I made with riced-then-cooked cauliflower, eggs, salt and pepper. Hummus was spread on that, topped with avocado, and chopped tomatoes. I passed the Frank’s hot sauce.

Our second course was a roasted eggplant sandwhich.

Eggplant Sandwhich

Eggplant Sandwhich

First peel the big eggplants (from the garden), and slice lengthwise into 1/2 slices. Use them for the tops, and bottoms of your sandwhich. Fill with turkey breast, muenster, and basil. Dip your “sandwhich” in beaten egg, roll in gluten free bread crumbs, and bake on a greased cookie sheet at 350 degrees for 30 minutes on each side. The crumbs will be crispy, the eggplant soft, and the middle gooey. My son-in-law called it a “proper” sandwhich because we needed to eat it with a knife, and fork.

My daughter made brownies (since I refuse to bake anything that I cannot eat the batter of), and vanilla ice cream was served for melting on top of the hot brownies. (Whimper).

Now-I am bragging when I say that my family was very pleased with the food, and asked for the recipes. Not bad for a gluten free meal to please 6 adults, and not a chip in sight!

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Family Get Together, Gluten Free. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Setting a Healthy Table

  1. well minded says:

    YUM! Eggplant is my favorite thing in the world, so I’m drooling right now!

Leave a Reply

