New Baby Bunnies

Ping Pong

Ping Pong

 Ping Pong is a Siamese variety of the Satin breed of rabbit. I have a breeding trio (a buck and two does). I raise them to show, and to sell.  

There are many people who do not like to raise rabbits in the desert. The heat can be hard on them. A buck will become temporarily sterile at temps of 90 and above. I breed my rabbits for heat tolerance; which means that I choose babies from the late spring litters for my breeders. Those litters are raised outside as the temps start to rise. I watch the litters carefully. The ones who handle the heat the best, are the ones that I keep to breed the following year. 

Once the summer temps are above 90 degrees, the rabbits  come to live in the house during the day time. I have a dog crate for each rabbit. The dog crates are lined up in the dark, cool, tiled hallway. They sleep the day away in their large crate, and then go outside at night to play.    

This routine keeps the bucks from going sterile.  I can breed the rabbits, and still be able to take the young ones to the shows.

Ping Pong had a litter of 3 fat little babies this morning. Notice that she did not line her nest with fur. It was warm enough outside when she had them. Bunnies like their nest to be 90-100 degrees. No problem there!

Once I bring the nest box into the house. she will be the judge on just how much fur to pull to cover them up. But I will leave that up to her. After all; mother knows best:)

3 Fat Shiny Babies

3 Fat Shiny Babies

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Baby Bunnies, Rabbits, Siamese Satins. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Baby Bunnies

  1. Nanette says:

    but do you eat them?

    • Nanette,
      Thank you for your comment. Though many people raise rabbits as a sustainable source of clean meat, the rabbits that you see in my posts are not for eating purposes. I sell my bunnies. The people who purchase from me are raising show stock as well. I encourage showing because, it improves the breed and showing is very kid friendly. I love seeing the kids out there doing something other than playing video games. I also love all the little packages of organic fertilizer that my rabbits give me.
      That being said, I must be honest and tell you that I have indeed raised rabbits in the past to feed my family. Rabbits are quiet, and because they are easy to keep clean; there is not a fly or an odor problem. You can also control what the animals are being fed. They do not need hormones, and they do not need antibiotics, because they are not overcrowded. I would encourage someone who is concerned about the inhumane conditions that our food is being raised in (google CAFOs), to honor this tradition of raising their own meat. That is the only way that we can be sure that the food source has led a clean and humane life. If someone is interested in doing this I am certainly willing to mentor them through the process, in order to make sure that the animals are being treated with as much respect and dignity as possible.

Leave a Reply

