Gone Ga-Ga for Grapes.

Frozen Grapes

Frozen Grapes

Nope, it is not time to plant them (Dec-Jan). Nope-it is not time to harvest them (April-June). But- they have been on sale.

Steve and I both love them. So I buy lots, and keep them on hand. There used to be a commercial about grapes being the snack that comes in its own perfect little package. It was silly, but that is why I remember it.

I put them in my salads, in my cereal, and in my beverages. Whaaat?!

Well not grapes actually. Can you hear my dehydrator running in the background? You guessed it, you smarty! Raisins. I do put them outside on cookie sheets on sunny days. But they are mostly water, so it takes a couple of days outside. My dehydrator will get the job done overnight while I sleep.

Beverages? Here is the best way to eat grapes (in my humble opinion). FROZEN. Ha! I fill a cookie sheet with grapes, and stick it in the freezer. No blanching, no citric acid, no sugar, no prep. Just wash, and freeze. It could be my imagination, but I think they are so much sweeter when they are frozen. Is there any reason, or science behind that? I do not know. They do not freeze hard like ice, they are more like a little balloon full of slush. They are just fun to eat that way. You can see that we have been helping ourselves to the tray that was put into the freezer completely full.  I also put them in my iced tea. You could cut them in half, and put them into your water keifer during the second fermentation. it will give the keifer a little fresh flavor, and a bit of fizz.

So forget about candy (for now), and eat grapes instead.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Grapes, Water Keifer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

