Eating Elephants?

Don’t worry. That was not meant literally. I do not serve elephant at my house.

My children will tell you that whenever there was a big task before them, I would pick up a knife, and fork. I would then ask them “How do you eat an elephant?” When they were little, they would giggle, and make a big chomping noise, then answer “one bite at a time”. When they were a little older, they would groan, but they would play back the drilled in answer. Later, I just got an eye-roll (love those teenage years).
Now that they are older, I feel tears stinging the backs of my eyes; when I hear them encourage me with the echo of my words.

In case you are wondering what I am talking about 800 square feet of garden is a lot to get ready for fall planting! Fall to desert gardeners is like spring time in most other places, with a big difference. It is still blazing hot out there.

Before Taking My First Bite

So this week, I took a big bite out of my elephant.
I pulled the drip lines back, raked the straw up, and put some organic minerals down. This is the first time in 5 years that I have re-mineralized this soil. I turned the soil, topped it with 3 month old compost and put the drip lines back in place. (Pant, pant).

After My First Bite

 

This bed is 160 square feet, and it is one that is under the cover of the shade cloth. I have found that if I start at 7:00 am, and work under the shade, I can go until 10:00. I am planning on putting pole beans, and carrots in this bed. I may end up moving the strawberries there as well. The two red flame grape vines are already there. In the winter time, I will fill the whole row with more grape vines. This will create a nice shade for the chicken run during the summer.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

