Treating My Butter Like Gold, or Emptying the Freezer Episode #3

Cream Line

Cream Line

Raw milk from a Jersey cow goes for $10.00 per gallon around here. Maintenence of a cow is expensive, and if you want the raw milk, you have to feed the cow. I want the raw milk. I have found that my body cannot tolerate pasturized dairy. But, I can handle raw dairy products just fine. I do not want a cow (at this time). So…..

I have found my source. I know the cow. I know the farmer who milks the cow. I have witnessed the cleanliness of the milking, and the bottles. I am satisfied that the milk I am drinking is safe, and full of wonderful good bacteria to keep my gut alive, and healthy. This will help me repair my leaky gut. (Picture little masons damming up my leaky gut with butter.)

So, this milk that I bring home gives me about 3 cups of cream per gallon. I have been separating, and freezing the cream in quart jars (what else?). I save them up for the day when I have a big block of time to devote to butter making. I have 8 quart jars of cream in my freezer. I pulled 4 of those quarts out today to make butter, this is what I got.

4 Quarts of Frozen Cream

4 Quarts of Frozen Cream

4 Chunks of Frozen Butter

2 Quarts of Buttermilk

2 Quarts of Buttermilk

4-4oz (by weight) blocks of butter, and 2 quarts of buttermilk. The buttermilk will be used to soak chicken in overnight for frying. I freeze the butter in these little ramekins. I pop them out, and freeze them in a ziplock bag. When I am ready to serve the butter, I put it back in a ramekin, and set it out. I have left my butter out for a week (like the old days), or more without spoiling. I think that is because it is the real deal. I think that the good bacteria in the butter actually protects the butter from the bad bacteria that causes spoilage. Whatever-it is speadable soft and so tastey!

Butter Sits Out

Butter Sits Out

This butter is used for spreading, or frying eggs. It is too precious (and expensive) to use for baking. So when I bake, I use Kerrygold butter (full fat). I buy it up when it is on sale at Trader Joe’s, or Sprouts. The milk is from grassfed cows, I know that the cream used to make Kerrygold butter is pasteurized, but after doing some research, I feel that it is one of the best choices out there for those of use who do not have a cow.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Buttermilk, raw butter, raw cream, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.