Take That You Squash Bug!

Butternut Squash Plant

Butternut Squash Plant

Those of you who know me, are aware that squash bugs creep me out more than spiders, and scorpions. I can kill spiders/scorpions, and be just fine. But after dealing with squash bugs; I get the heebie jeebies, and I just know that they are on me somewhere.

My butternut squash plant is really big, I have been trimming it back quite a bit. As I trim it, I hand pollinate it as well. I also turn the leaves over, and look for squash bug eggs. When I find them, I cut that leaf off, and seal it in a plastic bag. I leave the bag in the sun. I used to toss the leaf to the chickens, but a friend of mine suggested this trick. I like it because I do not want to leave any egg un-destroyed, and the Arizona heat will take care of that little problem pretty quick.

Bug in a Bag

So today, I turned over a leaf, and saw the eggs all lined up in their neat little rows, and the creepiest thing happened right before my eyes. The brown little oval eggs became black little x’s. It was like a science fiction movie, no wait, a horror movie. I blinked, and the little black x’s started moving. It was then that I realized what they were. I took a picture before I squished them.

Squash Eggs Hatching

Squash Eggs Hatching

I went to my kitchen, and blended up an onion in water to put in my watering can, but I think that there are too many of them.
I can see that I have several squashes that will be harvested soon, and I will do my best to fight off these beasts, but I fear that the plant itself will soon be over come.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Take That You Squash Bug!

  1. It’s a hard battle when true bugs attack our food! The Leaf Footed Bugs are attacking our pomegranates now. We’re seeing the nasty nymphs on the fruit. Argh! We need to finish putting on the socks! Glad the bag trick is working for you. I think it’s easier than squishing them. 🙂

    • Thank you for the suggestion of the bag Sheri, it was fun while it lasted. It also made for a fun post, but the squash bugs are gaining ground. No bug bombs for me though. I am going to sick the chickens on them. Sorry about the pomegranates.

Leave a Reply

