Cherries in the Desert-No Way!

Bing cherries-ready for the freezer

Bing cherries-ready for the freezer

When you cannot plant it, or find it local, do the next best thing.

We could all drive ourselves crazy trying to do everything perfectly. But my motto is to do the best you can, when you can. I will never even be 80%. But I feel pretty good  about at least trying.

That being said, I love cherries. Do you see any cherry trees growing in my back yard? Nope! For that matter, do you see any cherry trees growing in the desert? Nope! Am I gonna give up cherries? Are you kidding?

Cherries in the store can be had for 2.98 per lb. More for the Rainer variety. Never fear! I have a contact.

This lady orders fruit from Utah that has not been sprayed. Good enough. This year she charged $29 for a 20 lb box of either type. You can bet that I now have cherries in my tummy, in my fridge, and in my freezer.

Here is a happy trick that I learned from a friend. Put a few frozen cherries in a bowl and pour some raw milk on top. Watch the milk crystalize! Not only fun, but delicious!

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Fruit. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cherries in the Desert-No Way!

  1. I love your motto! Do the best you can, when you can. It’s all about finding a balance you can live with, isn’t it? Your cherries sound delicious!

Leave a Reply

