Spinning Straw into Gold

Straw into gold

Straw into gold

Nope, I am not going to tell a story about Rumpelstiltzken. But I am going to tell you about the straw in my backyard.
Recently, I told you that I was going to give some of my beds a break. So I hooked up my trailer (my poor CRV thinks it’s a truck by now), and went to the feed store. I bought three bales of straw.
So for the last week, I have been covering up my beds.
One bed at a time.
• First I make sure that all the weeds are pulled, I do not want the weeds to get the idea that this is all for them.
• I move the drip lines out of my way to make digging easier.
• I dig and fluff up the soil with a digging fork.
• I lay down thick layer of compost and manure.
• I put the drip lines back and cover with straw.
Some of the beds have plants in them. In that case, I will not cover the plant, just tuck it in up to its chinny-chin-chin. The vines of the squashes, tomatillos, melons are on top of the straw now.
There are some areas that I will plant next week. In that case, I will just push the straw away until the plants come up and then tuck them in too.
Why am I doing all of this? Our summer sun and heat just bakes the heck out of the soil. As the soil dries out, my earthworms will leave. The microbes will either die or slow down. So, I am conserving the moisture..
In the fall, I will uncover the soil, move the drip lines and turn under the decomposed straw. This will further feed my soil, and all the lovely little things that live in it.
This morning, I looked out my second story bedroom window. This window gives me a view of the whole back yard.
I looked down at all my straw covered beds. It occurred to me that it looked like so much gold.
It seems that I am always discovering new treasures in my garden, while I am…
Sharing Life’s Abundance

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

