A new little friend

Miss Prissy

Miss Prissy

Do you remember when I hatched some eggs in an incubator in February? Well out of 14 eggs, 9 hatched and 5 survived. Out of that batch, only one was a hen. So after giving the four boys away, I had one lone lady.
A farmer friend took pity on me and gave me a young hen who happened to be the same age. Apparently a young boy had bought some chicks and raised them as pets. This was one of them. He taught her to sit on his shoulder. The time came when he had to re-home them to my friend’s farm.
I brought her home for Steve to play with. He named her Miss Prissy; after Foghorn’s lady friend. Steve likes to watch baseball on TV. So when he is laying on the couch, snoring along to the tune of “take me out to the ball game”, I place a towel on his tummy. She sits on his tummy and actually “watches” the game.

And yes she does like peanuts and cracker jacks!

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

