Santa Rosa Plums

Santa Rosa Plums

Santa Rosa Plums

We planted a “Santa Rosa” plum tree in the front yard last winter. It was a birthday gift to Steve. He loves ornamentals and trees. I love plants that feed us. It was definitely a win-win, Steve nurtures the tree. I get to harvest and put up the fruit.
This plum variety grows well in the desert. They show off beautiful white Blossoms in May and produce their fruit in June.
I picked some just a little too early and was disappointed to find that the fruit was light red and the center was yellow. I was told that they would have red flesh. They tasted good, but I let them set out, because I heard about an apple crop that needed picking. You know me, I could not resist and off I went.
While I was picking, slicing and saucing apples though; that bag of plums continued to ripen. I opened it this morning to find very dark purple plums looking back at me. I bit into one and it was a deep red color and very sweet. Bingo!
Hooray for Santa Rosa plums!

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Fruit, Fruit trees, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

