These are the “Good Old Days”

These are the good old days.

I have had people say to me that they miss the “good old days”. When people raised and preserved their own food (said with dreamy eyes). That sounds very nice. I used to think the same thing. I loved my garden, chickens and rabbits, they made me feel like an old time country girl. But these are the best of times for me. Maybe it is just an attitude.
With or without my animals, my garden is part of what makes these the good old days for me.

I grow most of my own vegetables, but I do not have to can everything (like in the old days). I have a lovely freezer! I actually have a refrigerator/freezer in the kitchen, one in the garage and a large freezer in the garage. They are all constantly at least ¾ full of frozen food that I rotate.

Too many tomatoes? Roast them with garlic, onions and carrots. Make a big batch of soup for dinner and freeze the leftovers in 1 cup freezer bowls. You can even freeze tomatoes whole, and pop them in plastic bags. They will be very mushy when thawed, but they will make nice sauces. You can also juice fresh tomatoes to freeze. Too many carrots? Juice them and freeze them in used water bottles or make ice cubes. (Pop them into smoothies). I am told that the chemicals in the plastic bottles do not leach during freezing unless you add citrus juice. I freeze my citrus juices in canning jars, just fill ¾ full to keep them from breaking. Thaw them gently on the counter.
Speaking of best of times, I love my dishwasher. I find that when I am making fruit butters and preserves, there are a lot of dirty dishes! Those poor ladies that were canning prior to dishwashers, no wonder they thought that they wanted a career outside the home!
I love having running water, drip systems and hoses that reach my gardens. I cannot imagine watering 800 sq feet of garden with a bucket. I remember dragging the hose around every day to water. This drip system is amazing!
If I do not have enough of something, I can run to a farmer’s market or an organic market to buy the things that I need. In season, the cost is not that terrible. When fruit is in season and on sale, I can drag it home and freeze it, dry it or can it, so that we can enjoy it later when it is not available or too expensive.
Most of all, this time of year, I love air conditioning!
So be thankful to have been born in this time, because these truly are the good old days!

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

