Drip Systems to Beat the Heat

Hello gardeners.
I had promised some of my experience with drip irrigation.
When Steve and I first put this particular garden in, I was dragging the hose around, but this garden is too big for that. Steve was able to find some amazing deals on pvc pipe, timers, fittings and heads at yard sales. So the actual cost to put in the system was minimal. Between the two of us digging and laying the pvc, then attaching sprinkler heads was quite a job, but it got done.
Steve is always dragging home little odds and ends from yards sales and discovered that he had enough ½ inch and ¼ inch hoses and new heads to trade out the sprinkler system for drip.
I have never been impressed with the drip systems that I have seen before. I like straight lines and angles. Most home systems that I have seen looked like a tangled mess. So I was just a little reluctant. But he convinced me that this would save on water once I learned how to plant around it.
It has taken us some time to get the garden switched over. But while working with Steve, I learned how it works and am very pleased with the results. The emitters in the hoses are every 6 inches and we run 7 lines lengthwise down a 4 ft wide bed. The hoses all plug into a head that looks like an octopus. That head replaces the sprinkler head, so the original piping is still being used.
The timer is set for 10 minutes twice a day during the summer. So the water drips from each emitter for 10 minutes. Even though the little holes do not seem big enough to deliver the water, after 10 minutes the bed (and only the bed) is soaked. There is little or no water in the walk ways and the block walls stay dry.

You can still be planting okra, melon, sweet potatoes and sun flowers.

You could be harvesting; beets, cantaloupe, carrots, corn, green onions, herbs, mints, peppers, potatoes, radishes, rutabagas, summer squashes, spinach, sunflowers, tomatoes, turnips and watermelon.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

